History, modern architecture and art

The museum

Welcome to the fascinating world of glass. The material has been used to create artistic and functional objects for thousands of years. But what makes glass so special? Visitors to the Glass Museum will find out - on a journey through the cultural history of glass, from its beginnings in Mesopotamia to the present day.

The modern architecture of the museum building also shows to the outside world that the work here is contemporary and innovative. The architectural staging of the exhibition can be admired on 1300 m² of exhibition space in the round building. In addition to the permanent exhibition, the glass museum presents exciting special exhibitions with international artists. 

As part of the museum's educational programme, we introduce children to glass and the craft in a playful way. We want to encourage them to understand the significance and history of the material and use their creativity and imagination to design their own works of art. We have also created a special section for children on our website. Our friendly museum spirit Durandl will show you the way.

Digital and always changing

The
Virtual Glass Museum

This is where our virtual museum is created. Our digital exhibits are developed specifically for the digital presentation based on existing themes and objects in the museum. The exhibition in our virtual museum is growing gradually.

Click through our virtual building. Have fun!

Kids Experience

Click point

Learning world museum

Discover
Explore
Create

At the Frauenau Glass Museum, children and young people discover culture and history as well as glass crafts, art and design in a creative way. Social and scientific topics are vividly conveyed by means of original exhibits and their exciting stories.

Special event

Discover
Explore
Create

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consetetur sadipscing elitr, sed diam nonumy eirmod tempor invidunt ut labore et dolore magna aliquyam erat, sed diam voluptua. At vero eos et accusam

Information on
to the visit

Here you will find compact and transparent information about your visit to the Glass Museum. From our current opening hours to admission prices.

Design competition

Pupils
design
Mug

4th design competition as part of the co-operation between the Zwiesel Glass College and the Frauenau Glass Museum to promote young designers. 

Take part now!

News

Currently in
Glass museum

19.11.23 - 17.03.24

Rainer Metzger: The next moment

Cabinet
21.02.24 - 21.03.24

Workshop programme for children

Frauenau Glass Museum
19.11.23 - 17.03.24

Giampaolo Amoruso: Fragile Umanità

Large showroom

Glass:
A timeless
Material.
From the
History
into the future

Artist portrait

Rainer Metzger: The next moment

Glass home Bavaria

Around Frauenau

Visit us

In the glass museum
Frauenau

Geschichte, moderne architektur und Kunst

Das Museum

Willkommen in der faszinierenden Welt des Glases. Seit Jahrtausenden wird das Material zur Schaffung von künstlerischen und funktionalen Gegenständen verwendet. Doch was macht Glas so besonders? Das erfahren die Besucher des Glasmuseums – auf einer Reise durch die Kulturgeschichte des Glases, von den Anfängen im Zweistromland bis heute.

Die moderne Architektur des Museumsgebäudes zeigt auch nach außen, dass hier zeitgemäß und innovativ gearbeitet wird. Auf 1300 m² Ausstellungsfläche im Rundbau kann die architektonische Inszenierung der Ausstellung bewundert werden. Neben der Dauerausstellung präsentiert das Glasmuseum spannende Sonderausstellungen mit internationalen Künstlern. 

Im Rahmen der Museumspädagogik bringen wir Kindern auf eine spielerische Art den Werkstoff Glas und das Handwerk näher. Wir möchten sie ermutigen, die Bedeutung und die Geschichte des Materials zu verstehen und dabei mit ihrer Kreativität und Fantasie eigene Kunstwerke zu gestalten. Auch auf unserer Website haben wir einen eigenen Bereich für Kinder geschaffen. Unser freundlicher Museumsgeist Durandl weist euch den Weg.

Digital und stets im Wandel

Das
Virtuelle Glasmuseum

Hier entsteht unser virtuelles Museum. Unsere digitalen Ausstellungsstücke werden ausgehend von vorhandenen Themen und Objekten im Museum speziell für den digitalen Auftritt entwickelt. Die Ausstellung in unserem virtuellen Museum wächst sukzessive.

Klicken Sie Sich durch unser virtuelles Gebäude. Viel Vergnügen!

Kids Experience

Klickpunkt

Lernwelt Museum

Entdecke
Erkunde
Erschaffe

Im Glasmuseum Frauenau entdecken Kinder und Jugendliche auf kreative Weise Kultur und Geschichte sowie Handwerk, Kunst und Design im Bereich Glas. Gesellschaftliche und naturwissenschaftliche Themen werden mittels originaler Exponate und ihren spannenden Geschichten anschaulich vermittelt.

Sonderveranstaltung

Entdecke
Erkunde
Erschaffe

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consetetur sadipscing elitr, sed diam nonumy eirmod tempor invidunt ut labore et dolore magna aliquyam erat, sed diam voluptua. At vero eos et accusam

Informationen
zum Besuch

Hier finden Sie kompakt und transparent alle Informationen zu Ihrem Besuch im Glasmuseum. Von unseren aktuellen Öffnungszeiten bis zu den Eintrittspreisen.

Designwettbewerb

Schüler
gestalten
Becher

4. Designwettbewerb im Rahmen der Kooperation von Glasfachschule Zwiesel und Glasmuseum Frauenau zur Förderung des gestalterischen Nachwuchses. 

Jetzt mitmachen!

News

Aktuell im
Glasmuseum

13.04.2406.01.25

Historisches Frauenau

Kabinett
09.04.2409.05.24

Aktuelles Werkstatt-Programm für Kinder

Museumswerkstatt
14.04.2406.01.25

Schöpferisches Frauenau

Großer Saal

Glas:
Ein zeitloses
Material.
Aus der
Geschichte
in die Zukunft

Künstler Portrait

Historisches Frauenau

Glasheimat Bayern

Rund um Frauenau

Besuchen Sie uns

Im Glasmuseum
Frauenau